W.Lab W-Honey Beam Cushion Review : Winter loves honey !

As a huge fan of cushion creams and collecting cases in my spare time (almost an obsession, but shhh), I couldn’t resist when I saw this lovely case from Korean brand W.Lab.

wlab-w-honey-beam-cushion

W.Lab

Let’s talk quickly about the creator of this little gem, W.Lab is an innovative and respectful Korean brand through its minimalist compositions, removing unnecessary chemical ingredients. For example, they prefer to use plant extracts rather than purified water as the main ingredient of a common product, and this kind of detail makes a big difference for us, right? The packagings go from simple to cute as hell… A surprising little Korean cosmetic brand. (:

W Honey Beam Cushion

The W Honey Beam cushion is a flagship product of the brand so far. And it’s obviously for some reason ! As its name suggests it, there is more than 38% of honey in this cushion, making it extremely rich and nourishing. Specifically, it’s Jeju Island honey and a little bit of manuka honey. What an excellent composition, isn’t it ? Speaking of which:

Ingredients list
Honey, titanium dioxide, cyclopentasiloxane, ethylhexyl mathoxycinnamate, butylene glycol, cyclohexansiloxane, C12-15 alkyl benzoate, niacinamide, 1-3 butylene dimethacrylate, zinc oxide, trimethylsiloxysilicate, PEG-30 dipolyhydroxystearate, dimethicone, sodium chloride, bentonite, quaternium-18, yellow iron oxide, red iron oxide, aluminium hydroxide, black iron oxide, adenosine, magnesium ascorbic phosphate, sanjay tree fruit extract, tocopherol acetate, panthenol, purified water, dousing fruit extract, lavender oil, lemon peel oil, rosemary leaf oil, basil oil, scented geranium, orange, lime, clary oil, centella asiatica extract, portulaca oleracea extract, che east tree extract, chamomile

Honey is unsurprisingly but pleasantly in first place, followed by some sunscreens, pigments, non-comedogenic, very clean actives and a lot of natural extracts whose main virtues are:

– To moisturize deeply
– To even the complexion and cover blemishes
– To brighten the skin
– To protect from UVs  (SPF50+ PA+++, max range!)
– To prevent from winkles and aging signs

This is not only a cushion for dry and dehydrated skins, because it’s still a makeup product and not skincare (well, a bit still!), in the sense that rich ingredients are light enough not to “hurt” combination to oily skin like mine. Nothing too strong, basically.

wlab-w-honey-beam-cushion-1wlab-w-honey-beam-cushion-3

The “technical” point now finished, let’s move on to the practical one! The product comes in a classic cushion case: Integrated mirror and chic golden finishes, a pad, a cover that protects the product and soaked cushion. Look at this packaging, seriously! The pout of this little girl wearing a “bee-nie” makes me melt!

wlab-w-honey-beam-cushion-2

What surprised me at first is that the soaked cushion was not totally soaked at the opening. You must pat several times to spread the product evenly on the cushion. The pad still gets the product perfectly, no worries.

I really enjoy the fresh, almost floral scent of this product.
I tested the so-called medium to high coverage on the back of my hand, and apart from the very light shade (I realize that my hands are still seriously tanned haha) I found it convincing.
Since a picture is worth a thousand words, here’s before and after applying the W Honey Beam Cushion.

wlab-w-honey-beam-cushion-4wlab-w-honey-beam-cushion-5

I chose shade #21 Honey Light, but there’s also #23 Honey Beige which is slightly sanded. #21 usually fits me well but it’s may be a bit too light here ! It really depends of the brand.. Anyway, one can easily notice that my acne scars and redness are well hidden, the complexion is even and brightened.

The finish is extremely dewy… Like, TOO dewy. I just can’t apply this cushion without any powder on it because the finish is quite sticky. This is what gives the famous Korean trend of “wet / freshly hydrated” skin that I love, but…. ohmagad, dewy dewy dewy.

wlab-w-honey-beam-cushion-6

I still love the cushion and it didn’t disappoint me at all, it’s long-lasting but still a bit cakey around my nose and on dry areas at the end of the day but must be optimal on dry to normal skin. When I wear it, I feel that my skin is even, but also protected and nourished. Perfect for winter !


Get it on q-depot between $ 30 and $ 34 depending on current discounts! This is a cool Korean cosmetics  e-shop that has a large choice of products and navigation is very simple. W Honey Beam Cushion is a little more expensive than my usual/cheaper cushions, but its very good composition and long lasting/coverage  totally justifies the price to me. It is still far from Western luxury goods…

sign

3 Comments
Previous Post
Kylie Cosmetics lipstick birthday edition
Next Post
H&M Precision Sponge dupe Beauty Blender

W.Lab W-Honey Beam Cushion, parfaite pour l’hiver ?

Grande adepte des cushion creams et collectionneuse à mes heures perdues (c’est presque une obsession, mais chut), je n’ai pas pu résister en voyant cet adorable boîtier de la marque de cosmétiques coréens W.Lab.

wlab honey beam cushion

W.Lab

Parlons rapidement du créateur de ce petit bijou, W.Lab se veut être une marque coréenne innovante et respectueuse à travers les compositions minimalistes, qui se passent volontiers des ingrédients chimiques non nécéssaires. Par exemple, ils préfèreront utiliser des extraits de plantes plutôt que de l’eau purifiée comme ingrédient principal pour un produit lambda, et c’est ce genre de détail qui fait une grosse différence pour les connaisseurs ! Les packagings vont de la sobriété à la mignonitude en passant par des allure de parapharmacie… Une petite marque coréenne qui n’a pas fini de nous étonner.

W Honey Beam Cushion

La W Honey Beam cushion est l’un des produits phares de la marque. Et pour cause ! Comme son nom l’indique, elle est composée à plus de 38% de miel, ce qui la rend extrêmement riche et nourrissante. Plus particulièrement de miel de l’île de Jeju, ainsi qu’un peu de miel de manuka. Une composition d’excellence, n’est-ce pas ? En parlant de composition :

Voir la composition

Le miel est sans surprise mais agréablement quand même en première position, suivi par les protections solaires, des pigments, des actifs non comédogène, très clean et un tas d’extraits naturels dont les principales vertus sont :

– D’hydrater intensément
– D’unifier le teint et couvrir efficacement les imperfections
– De redonner de l’éclat
– De protéger des UV (SPF50+ PA+++, le maximum!)
– De prévenir des premiers signes de l’âge

Pour autant, ce n’est pas une cushion qui est réservée aux peaux sèches et déshydratée puisque ça reste un produit de maquillage et non un soin (enfin, un peu quand même!), dans le sens que la nutrition que ce produit prodigue ne va pas à l’encontre des peaux mixtes à grasses comme la mienne. Rien de trop riche et non adapté, en gros.

wlab honey beam cushion wlab honey beam cushion

Le point « technique » étant maintenant terminé, passons à la phase pratique ! Le produit arrive dans un boitier cushion tout ce qu’il y a de plus classique : un écrin avec miroir intégré aux finitions dorées très chic, un pad, un couvercle qui protège le produit et le coussin imbibé. Regardez-moi ce packaging, sérieux ! L’air boudeur de cette petite fille au bonnet-abeille me fait fondre !

wlab honey beam cushion

Ce qui m’a surpris, c’est que le coussin imbibé ne l’était pas totalement lors de l’ouverture. Il faut tapoter à plusieurs reprises pour diffuser le produit, même si ce n’est qu’un aspect visuel et que le liquide se prélève très bien dès la première utilisation.

C’est un produit qui a un parfum, et que j’apprécie beaucoup. Si vous préférez les produits sans odeur c’est dommage, mais je vous assure que celui-ci est frais, presque floral.
J’ai tout d’abord testé la couvrance dite médium à forte sur le dos de ma main, et mis à part la teinte très claire (et c’est la que je me rends compte que mes mains sont encore grave bronzées haha), je la trouvais convaincante. Puisqu’une photo vaut mille mots, voici un avant-après application de la W Honey Beam Cushion.

wlab honey beam cushion wlab honey beam cushion

J’ai choisi la teinte 21 Honey Light, mais il existe également la teinte 23 Honey Beige qui est légèrement plus sablée. D’habitude, la 21 me va pile poil mais je trouve celle-ci un peu claire ! Ça dépend des marques… Tout de même facile à rattraper en réchauffant le tout, on remarque aisément que mes rougeurs et mes traces d’acné sont bien camouflées, le teint unifié et son éclat ravivé.

Le fini est extrêmement dewy… Mais genre, trop à mon goût : Il m’est tout bonnement impossible d’appliquer la cushion sans poudre derrière car le fini est assez collant, et ne sèche pas. C’est ce qui donne se fameux teint « humide/fraichement hydraté » à la coréenne que j’aime beaucoup, mais au toucher… Très peu pour moi.

wlab honey beam cushion

Ça reste un produit que j’aime beaucoup et qui ne m’a pas déçu, sa tenue est presque aussi bonne que sa couvrance sur peau mixte et doit être optimale sur peau sèche à normale. En fin de journée, ça a légèrement filé au niveaux les arêtes du nez et mes plaques de sècheresses sur les joues ont tendance à être marquées, mais rien d’alarmant. Quand je la porte, je sens que ma peau est unifiée, mais également protégée et nourrie. Parfaite pour les basses températures qui pointent le bout de leur nez !


À shopper sur q-depot entre 30$ et 34$ en fonction des réductions ! C’est un e-shop de cosmétiques coréens que j’espère vous relayer de plus en plus dans le futur car le choix des produits est très bon et la navigation est ultra simple. La Honey Beam Cushion est un peu plus chère que les cushions d’entrée de gamme, mais son aspect soin, sa très bonne composition et sa couvrance/tenue en justifie totalement le prix à mes yeux. On est quand même loin des prix de produits luxe occidentaux…

sign

3 Comments
Previous Post
Next Post